Dr. John Culclasure

Dr. Culclasure is a native of St. Matthews, SC, and the father of three. He received his medical degree from the Medical University of South Carolina (Charleston) and completed his residency training in Anesthesiology at Walter Reed Army Medical Center. He was chosen as the outstanding resident in anesthesiology at Walter Reed in 1989. Dr. Culclasure is board certified in both anesthesiology and pain management by the American Board of Anesthesiology.

Dr. Culclasure offers minimally-invasive diagnostic and treatment options for patients suffering from spinal pain and other painful chronic conditions. These include:

Vertebral augmentation (kyphoplasty) for vertebral compression fractures

Spinal cord stimulation

Provocative discography (discogram) in the neck, mid and low back

Diagnostic facet joint blocks and facet denervation procedures

Sacroiliac joint injections

Epidural steroid injections in the neck, mid and low back

Anesthesiology: Walter Reed Army Medical Center and Brooke Army Medical Center
Medical School: Medical University of South Carolina
Undergraduate School: Wofford College, Bachelor of Science in Biology
Robert A. Dripps Memorial Award+ (annual award to outstanding resident in
anesthesiology), Walter Reed Army Medical Center, 1990

Phi Beta Kappa, Wofford College, 1979

Two Year ROTC Academic Scholarship, Wofford College, 1977 – 1979

Board of Medical Examiners of the State of Tennessee
American Board of Anesthesiology
American Board of Anesthesiology for subspecialty certification in Pain Management
State of Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development
Medical Care and Cost Containment Committee October 2009 to present
Tennessee Medical Foundation Board of Directors 2009 to present
Tennessee Medical Foundation Endowment Board of Directors 2010 to present
American Medical Association
Tennessee Medical Association
Nashville Academy of Medicine
American Society of Interventional Pain Physicians
Tennessee Society of Interventional Pain Physicians (Treasurer 2011 to present.
Executive Director 2008-2010. President 2007-2008. Vice President 2006.)
International Spine Intervention Society